Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Shani tutors in Yonkers, NY

Shani O.

Private tutor in Yonkers, NY

Education

Boston University - BS, Health Science

Experience

I am a multi-talented tutor for a broad age range of students from pre-school through high school. I am passionate about math and teaching math skills, and I continue to learn new things about math and to do math problems every day. When one of my students learns how to master skills in math, he or she will be able to deconstruct almost any problem into its component parts and to implement a strategy to solve that problem. My math expertise extends to elementary and middle school math, algebra, and geometry. I also teach a variety of other subjects, including English and English as a Second Language ("ESL/ELL"), fundamental reading skills, grammar and language mechanics, and writing. I have worked with disadvantaged inner-city students to improve their health programs in the face of regular school budget cuts. I find it particularly encouraging and satisfying when I see how my students implement the strategies that I teach them and learn how to approach and solve a problem effectively and efficiently. I earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Health Sciences from Boston University, and I intend to continue my studies in public health nutrition. My ultimate goal is to become certified as a physician's assistant. I currently live in the Bronx, where I partake in swimming, volleyball, and tennis. I also enjoy reading, music, and movies. I particularly enjoy action movies and adaptations of Marvel and DC comic books.   

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Swimming, Reading, Listening to music, Watching movies

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!